Isn’t by Accident, He is Calling You

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.” –Jeremiah 1:5

I’m honored to be a Global Mission Fellow and I’m happy to serve in Zambia as Hope for Children assistance and social economic empowerment advocate. Here is my story; I grow up with a passion to help children, women, and young ladies to cling to God despite circumstances, tribulations, and trials, to find strength and build unshakeable faith in God. I then applied to become a Global Mission Fellow. l can’t even remember how l choose Africa as one of my preferred regions because l never wanted to work in Africa.

Surprisingly, Africa (Zambia) was my placement site. This came to me like a bomb. I knew was ready to do God’s mission but not ready to serve in Africa–Zambia in particular. Honestly l thought my reasons were valid; unfortunately they were not to the one who called me. I got mad at God and l once thought God was rude. l thought He didn’t care about my feelings. l thought He was mistaken to send me to Zambia. l thought He wasn’t paying attention to me because l actually fasted and prayed yet nothing changed.

priscah 1 may

I am grateful for the love, care, and encouragement l got from my fellows during this traumatic period. My heartfelt thanks got to Rey Oliver (l call him a timely angel from God because l believe he was truly send to me). God used him to help me realize that it wasn’t by accident: God was calling and l had to answer. Ray gave me two beautiful drawings and he explained their meaning. Surprisingly my name was there. In his explanation, he said, “Many people are waiting for your service in Zambia,” and he posed a question: “What will happen to them if you don’t go?” l cried to God for forgiveness. l realized l was totally wrong. l realized that God wasn’t rude but l was. l realized l was forcing God to go my way not His, to do my will not His. That night l finally believed that it wasn’t by accident–God was calling me for Zambia.

priscah 3 may

Rey gave me Jonah’s example. This made me realize that if God called you to go to Nineveh (Zambia), it doesn’t matter how much you will try to run away; it won’t work. Jonah tried to run away (Jonah 1:1-3), but running away didn’t turn out well for him. The same with Moses: no matter how God had displayed a lot of miraculous signs, he bluntly refused to answer His call, and I bet he thought God had called him by accident. He thought Aaron was the rightful person. This made me realize that when God calls you, it means He has a mission that need to be accomplished and this greatly depends on you accepting His call, neglecting your personal desires, and taking his gospel to completion.

Isn’t by accident, He is calling you.

It has been eight months now serving in Zambia, and l can say this with a deep conviction of heart—God wanted me to serve in Zambia.

 

Priscah Makanyara Fisho

 

Priscah Makanyara Fisho

GMF International, Class of 2016-2018

Pilgrim Wesleyan Church

Zambia

#3022216

Leave a Reply

