A Call and Challenge to Lead

“Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith and in purity.” – 1 Timothy 4:12
A year and half ago, when I first saw the brochure on Generation Transformation, this verse in first Timothy resonated with me. I was both challenged and excited by the call to be an example (to lead). Today in my work, I am challenged to do exactly that. The call and challenge to lead does not come in the forms and ways usually associated with leadership – having a group of people listen to you and wait for you to give them a sense of direction. It comes in other ways.
My placement site is not a traditional work setting; working Monday to Friday, 9am to 5pm.  I am responsible for ensuring that I account for my work hours, carry out tasks, and act as a good steward of what has been given to me and to what I have been called. Sometimes I fall into the temptation of being lazy and irresponsible in my use of time and other resources, but I am reminded constantly that I am called to lead for the glory of God.
In my work, I am learning to speak up and take responsibility. I am learning to take personal responsibility and also to work together with others in achieving goals. Working with migrants, I am learning how a single act of irresponsibility or a refusal to act can affect a lot of people and create problems for many who may not be directly connected to us.
When I signed up to be a Global Mission Fellow a year and half ago, I had no idea how it was going to happen. However, a year and half in, I am excited that the program, indeed, challenges people and calls young people to leadership.
Hezekiah Samwinihezekiah-samwini
International and Migrant Ministries
Germany
GMF International, Class of 2015-2017
Leave a Reply

