I have decided to follow Jesus….

NO TURNING BACK…..

57 As they were going along the road, someone said to him, “I will follow you wherever you go.” 58 And Jesus said to him, “Foxes have holes, and birds of the air have nests; but the Son of Man has nowhere to lay his head.” 59 To another he said, “Follow me.” But he said, “Lord, first let me go and bury my father.” 60 But Jesus said to him, “Let the dead bury their own dead; but as for you, go and proclaim the kingdom of God.”61 Another said, “I will follow you, Lord; but let me first say farewell to those at my home.” 62 Jesus said to him, “No one who puts a hand to the plow and looks back is fit for the kingdom of God.” Luke 9 : 57-62 NRSV

As I was reading this passage, it resonated with my experience in my new home, which is my placement site in the beautiful country of Kenya. One of the main theologies of the Global Mission Fellow program is that of Missio Dei, meaning it is God’s mission. Though I might be physically present and though the road becomes steep sometimes, when it comes to certain decisions, I try to remember the truth remains that God is in charge. He is faithful in His watch over us and He gives us an enduring spirit as long as we decide to be anchored in Him.

In the passage in Luke, Jesus is calling different people to become his followers and to make a personal decision to follow him. Following Jesus makes you vulnerable, remembering that Christ himself didn’t have somewhere to rest his head. As a Christ follower, you will proclaim the kingdom of God even in the face of different cultural practices, and some challenges and events that may take away or reduce the time we give to do God’s work. However, as Christ urges, we must make a conscious decision to rid ourselves of all other obstructions and commit to God. Again, the journey of following Christ is not an easy one, but in all things, we must remain forward focused and never allow past limitations or painful moments to overshadow us.

The following lyrics also resonated with me, “I have decided to follow Jesus, though I may wonder I still will follow, The world behind me the cross before me, though none will go with me still I will follow, will you decide now to follow Jesus,” and all the stanzas in the song end with the words “NO TURNING BACK, NO TURNING BACK.” It was my personal decision to accept the Global Mission Fellow program when I had other options I might have taken and so was the decision for my fellow GMFs. I might have some falls but I will always make an effort to rise on this journey and so should you. I will always focus on the symbol of victory, which is the cross of Christ, and so should you. I shall take a priority to stand for the gospel and justice work even when it means becoming vulnerable and so should you.  I will call upon others and connect with them in working for the kingdom of God, and the joy of the Lord shall always be my strength and so it should also be for you.

The Global Mission Fellow program is a transformative journey. We transform the world and we also get transformed along the way. Continue raising the flag of Christ and remain grounded in Christ, especially in the community you are placed in. God bless you. AMEN

I will be sharing my journey stories in my blog and newsletters. Please, your prayers and support are treasured a lot.

shandarai-bwawa-editShandirai Bwawa

Pan African Climate Justice Alliance

Nairobi, Kenya

GMF International, Class of 2015-2017

#3022061

Facebook page   blog page

Leave a Reply

