Receiving New Family and Friends

Mark 10:29-30

“Truly I tell you,” Jesus replied, “no one who has left home or brothers or sisters or mother or father or children or fields for me and the gospel  will fail to receive a hundred times as much in this present age: homes, brothers, sisters, mothers, children and fields…”

As Christmas approached last year (2015), I realized that, for the first time, I would not be celebrating the usual way: being together with family, visiting friends and listening to my favorite carols. Then they began to come: several invitations to spend time with families in my new home. It was fun sitting around the table, talking about the year and sharing stories of how Christmas is celebrated in Ghana. I did miss Christmas with my family, but I realized that I had a new, bigger family, right here in Germany: people who care and are ready to support me, not only in my work, but also in my personal walk.

As I reflected on these events, the words of Jesus kept ringing in my heart: “ …will receive a hundred times as much in this present age: homes, brothers, sisters, mothers….”. In my time working in Germany and migrant congregations, I am meeting a lot of people from different backgrounds and cultures, and I am learning more about myself and how my background affects the way I relate to the world and live the Gospel. Being a part of the group of 7 GMFs in Frankfurt has been a great experience; I have enjoyed observing how people from totally different backgrounds and cultures can relate to one another and to the world by putting their faith into action.

I am just 6 months into my service, but I am excited about the blessedness of this experience. I am grateful for the many new families and friends I am finding on this journey. And I am grateful for the challenges which are making me grow in my relationships.

 

Hezekiah Samwini.edit

Hezekiah Samwini

GMF, Class of 2015

International and Migrant Ministries

Germany

#3022095

Leave a Reply

