LIBERIANA

It has been barely nine weeks that I have been in Liberia, but yet I feel I have been here for a longer time. It has been a challenge, a ride that has not been smooth, but by the Grace of God, it has been adventurous.

Adaptation has been quite a stumbling block–new culture, new people, new buildings, to say the least–I feel that I am in a different world, yet I am among my African sisters and brothers. The English that is spoken here is very different from the English I can speak, so  my job has been to listen attentively and try to ask as many questions as I can. It has not been easy.

When you migrate from the Southern part of Africa to the West, you will know that you are in for a ride. Mathematically I had planned for this. I knew everything would be different, so adjustment has been my number one priority.

On the other side of this journey, I feel Liberians are friendly and easy to get along with. It is awesome to see how God is working in this country. I feel like a ‘Liberiana‘ because I am doing things that most Liberians do: learning the greeting, different signs and gestures, cooking up Liberian meals, and so much more.

DSC00921

Being part of Imani House has made me realize how much life needs humanity and service. Regularly going over to the clinic and seeing many individuals receive treatment has been one of the highlights of my career. Imani House deals with everything from literacy classes to office work, but one of their main areas of focus is serving lives through the clinic.

For me, just to see a person get treatment, regardless of their religion, age, sex or skin color, is amazing; serving mankind for a productive world is awesome. Liberia has many more things for me to learn about.

Alick Mvula Global Mission Fellow #3022125 #GMF

Alick Mvula,

International Track, Class 2015

Imani House, Liberia

#3022125

#GMF

 

Leave a Reply

