Coming

2016 is coming and I have a lot on my mind. In this season of Advent, I am preparing for the coming of Christ by praying and listening. Advent is the beginning of the liturgical year for Christians, it’s the New Year for Christians. Even as we look back and celebrate the birth of Jesus in a humble stable in Bethlehem, we also look forward anticipating the second coming of Christ as the fulfillment of all that was promised by His first coming.

I am reminded that I am in need of forgiveness, salvation, and a new beginning.  How can I be a better daughter to God (2 Corinthians 6:18)? In 2016, I am walking deeper into my calling, I am loving me, and opening my heart more.

In the last 16 months of living in Mobile, Alabama I have grown in personal and social holiness. Let me explain; I am a person that will not tell you what I don’t like to eat, I just won’t eat it. I am a person that won’t tell you I don’t want to go out, I just won’t show up. I have grown to be able to just say no or I don’t want to or not this time. I have grown in social holiness as well. I asked a Pastor friend the question, “Do Black Lives Matter?” I asked this question because I live in a world where I am judged by the color of my skin and many times looked over because of it. In this conversation it opened my eyes, he said yes black lives matter because we are in a place to make change by being leaders.

That answered my question, how can I be a better daughter to Christ by Deepening my leadership skills in the community? This means for me that I am going to make Mobile home and I am joining St. John UMC and I am going back to school.

James 2:14, What does it profit, my brethren, if someone says he has faith but does not have works? Can faith save him? James 2:17 So also faith alone without works is dead. I am going to work and put my faith into action.

 

Marcharkelti McKenzieMcKenzie_Marcharkelti

Open Doors, Mobile, AL

US-2, Class 2014

#3022000

Leave a Reply

