“Peace I leave with you, my peace I give to you”

Untitled

The past two weeks have been very challenging for me with personal life problems, a friend losing her job, and another friend passing away… What a terrible period for a human being! I felt like it was too many waves for a life which is like a small boat in the ocean. I almost acted like the disciples asking Jesus, why are you sleeping, don’t you care about what is going on in my life (Mark 4: 38)?

However, there was something different that I experienced and I could not really understand. I was not troubled; deep inside of me I was very calm. I could not explain this and I had so many questions in mind which remained unanswered for almost two days. But as I was saying my daily prayer, “Lord thank you for the new day; whatever may come and whatever lies before me, let me be singing your songs when the evening comes,” I remembered these words from the book of John 14: 27:

“Peace I leave with you, my peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.”

My questions were finally answered.

Most of the time, we are so worried about our lives, wondering why we are experiencing different situations and we do not really know how to heal or find solutions. The world has given us a definition of peace as the absence of war, or violence, but Jesus was clear when he said “I do not give you as the world gives it” which means God has his own definition of peace. I am so grateful I can go deeper into my being to find that peace. Jesus also tells us not to be troubled! So many waves are going to come your way, your life will be hit by disastrous situations, but in the middle of all the chaos we are able to find peace within ourselves, the peace that Jesus promised. Just like the ocean, our lives are troubled on the outside, but as we go deeper in the ocean we can see the stillness of the ocean. I am grateful to God for the peace I could experience during all the hard times I went through.

“I will be still and know you are God.”

May you experience the Peace that Jesus promised as you go through different situations in your lives.


Olga TshiweweKangaj_Olga

World Council of Churches, Switzerland

GMF International, Class 2014

#3021978

Leave a Reply

