Once saved, We are Called to Serve Others

Last month my supervisor asked me to develop a concept paper on adolescent health. I took the task with pleasure for I thought it would be an easy task having taken some courses on this topic. Well, this project did not turn up to be as exciting and easy as I thought because of the unbelievable statistics and reality my fellow young adults are facing.

“I don’t know if I have necessary courage to continue this research,” I quietly thought to myself. I wondered where people find the courage to fight for justice when it seems unachievable. I am not well invested in this area of justice. However, every time it’s brought up for a topic like gender, race and health, the puzzle is barely solved or not even tempted.

One early morning, as I was reading my bible I came across this verse:

Matthew 15:21-28, Just then a Canaanite woman from that region came out and started shouting, “Have mercy on me, Lord, Son of David; my daughter is tormented by a demon.” But he did not answer her at all………..Then Jesus answered her, “Woman, great is your faith! Let it be done for you as you wish.” And her daughter was healed instantly.

This woman did not stop shouting though Jesus was silent and his disciples wanted her to be chased away. This woman stood her ground and Christ changed his position from silence to speaking, not just words spoken but life and hope was restored.

I am grateful that my work experience is making me realise my purpose in this life time. The puzzle of justice may seem daunting and for those who have felt like giving up, our faith in Jesus Christ calls us to pursue it further. Whenever you serve others in any way, you are actually serving God and fulfilling one of your purposes.

“Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God’s grace in its various forms.”  1 Peter 4:10


Bethel MhoneMhone_Bethel

World Council of Churches, Geneva

GMF International – 2014 Class

#3022004

Leave a Reply

